(618) 993-5935 | 206 S. Market, Marion Illinois 62959
The Board of Trustees of Marion Carnegie Library is seeking a Library Director. Marion is located in the southern part of the state of Illinois. It is the county seat of Williamson County. The population was 17,193 at the 2010 census. Marion serves as the largest retail trade center in Southern Illinois with its central location along Interstate 57 and Illinois Route 13. With an annual budget of almost $1 million, a staff of fourteen, and a collection of over 120,000 items, the library is a full-service, technology-rich organization serving a population of over 17,000 residents. The library is viewed as a valued resource and destination in the community.
Qualifications: MLS or equivalent from an ALA-accredited library program. Minimum preferred 5 years of progressively responsible public library experience, 3 years in an administrative capacity, 5 years experience with automation technology.
Salary: $60,000+ (negotiable depending on qualifications and experience), excellent benefit package.
Contact: Interested candidates should provide the following: (1) Letter of interest, (2) Resume, (3) At least three letters of reference. Send information to George Trammell, President, Marion Carnegie Library Board of Trustees, 1102 Tower Square, Marion, IL 62959. A detailed job description and other information can be found at www.marioncarnegielibrary.org/library-director
Deadline: September 30, 2020.
CITY OF MARION
MARION CARNEGIE LIBRARY
TITLE: Library Director
PAY CLASSIFICATION: Exempt
REPORTS TO: Library Board of Trustees, City Administrator, Mayor
NATURE OF WORK:
The position of Library Director (LD) is a non-union, administrative position for the City of Marion. The LD shall be appointed by the Library Board in conjunction with the Mayor and the City Council. He or she shall receive compensation and benefits as the Mayor and the City Council shall fix from time to time. The LD has general charge of the library in consultation with the Board of Trustees. It is the chief duty of the LD to coordinate all operations of the library and to carry out the policies of the Board, both as to their instruction, and intent. He or she shall oversee and directly supervise the full-time positions of; Coordinator of Adult Services, Coordinator of Children’s Services, Coordinator of Young Adult Services, Coordinator of Library Services, Coordinator of Business Services and Office Assistant. The duties and responsibilities may, at times, require an unbalanced schedule and necessitate early mornings and/or late evenings at the library.
ESSENTIAL JOB FUNCTIONS:
a.)Five years of progressively responsible public library experience.
b.)Three years in an administrative capacity.
c.)Five years experience with automation technology.
BRIEF HISTORY OF THE MARION CARNEGIE LIBRARY
The library stands on the site of the former “Grandma Cline” residence. This property was acquired in 1914 for the sum of $5,003.17 from Sarelda Cline and her heirs. The building was constructed in 1915 with a grant of $18,000 from the Andrew Carnegie Foundation. Clifford Shopbell of Evansville, IN, designed the building, which was constructed by Robert Sparks of Marion. It was opened to the public on February 29, 1916, with 1,162 volumes and 680 borrowers. Marie Williams Roberts was the first librarian. Mark Woodley was the first president of the board of trustees.
A mezzanine existed above the entrance to the library until it was replaced by the present stairs in the east entrance in the late 1930s. The top floor was an attic until renovation on the south half made it the children’s area in 1962. In 1967, the children’s area expanded to include the north half of the top floor. In 1984, the Children’s Department was moved from the top floor to the lower level so it would be accessible for the handicapped. This move eliminated the meeting room which existed on the lower level. This renovation also added a ramp to the entrance and one of the marble staircases at the entry was removed to accommodate a chairlift.
In 1997 a major expansion and renovation of the library was completed, adding 12,000 square feet to the existing structure. Improvements included an elevator, meeting room, more restrooms, study rooms, an expanded children’s departments, and multiple computer workstations for the public. All woodwork on the main floor and lower level of the original building is the original walnut, except for a small section on the main floor. In earlier years, both fireplaces on the main floor were used. The woodwork and fireplaces have been retained as part of the last renovation. The bricks on the exterior of the existing building were made locally and were matched for the addition. The clay roof tiles are the original, and the same manufacturer provided identical tiles for the new addition. The ramp obscuring the east entrance has been removed and the second marble staircase in the east entrance has been restored.